Faculty


Marc Alperin

Marc Alperin

Associate Professor

Specialty: Chemical Oceanography – Aquatic Biogeochemical Processes

alperin@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-5184
(919) 962-1254
4202B Murray Hall, CB#3300
Alperin Lab

Carol Arnosti

Carol Arnosti

Professor

Specialty: Marine Organic Chemistry and Microbial Biogeochemistry

arnosti@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-5754
(919) 962-1254
3117A Murray Hall, CB#3300
Arnosti Lab Website
Google Scholar Profile

John Bane

John Bane

Professor

bane@unc.edu
(919) 962-0172
(919) 962-1254
3117F Murray Hall, CB#3300
Bane Lab

Larry K. Benninger

Larry K. Benninger

Professor

Specialty: Geochemistry

lbenning@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0699
323 Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Google Scholar Profile

Jaye Cable

Jaye Cable

Professor
Senior Associate Dean for Natural Sciences and Mathematics, College of Arts and Sciences

Specialty: Geochemistry/Chemical Oceanography

jecable@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-3468
(919) 962-1254
4202H Murray Hall, CB#3300
Google Scholar Profile

Karl Castillo

Karl Castillo

Associate Professor

Specialty: Coral Physiological Ecology, Climate Change, and Conservation

kdcastil@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-8752
(919) 962-1254
4202E Murray Hall, CB#3300
Castillo Lab
Google Scholar Profile

Drew S. Coleman

Drew S. Coleman

Professor

Specialty: Isotope Geochemistry/Geochronology

dcoleman@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0705
(919) 966-4519
325 Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Isotope Geochemistry Lab Page
Website
Google Scholar Profile

Emily Eidam

Emily Eidam

Assistant Professor

Specialty: Coastal Sedimentology

efe@unc.edu
(919) 843-5045
(919) 962-1254
3117C Murray Hall, CB#3300
Coastal & Fluvial Sediments Lab
Google Scholar Profile

Kennet E. Flores

Kennet E. Flores

Assistant Professor

Specialty: Petrologic and Tectonic processes

keflores@unc.edu
(919) 962-0689
310 Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Google Scholar Profile

F. Joel Fodrie

F. Joel Fodrie

Professor

Specialty: Estuarine and Fisheries Ecology

jfodrie@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841 ext. 149
(252) 726-2426
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557
Estuarine and fisheries ecology website
Google Scholar Profile

Scott Gifford

Scott Gifford

Associate Professor, Sewell Family Foundation Fellow

Specialty: Microbial Ecology and Biogeochemistry

sgifford@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0269
4202G Murray Hall, CB#3300
Gifford Lab
Google Scholar Profile

Nathan Hall

Nathan Hall

Research Assistant Professor

nshall@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841 ext. 228
Website

Michelle Haskin

Michelle Haskin

Assistant Teaching Professor

Specialty: Geoscience Education

mhaskin@email.unc.edu
108B Mitchell Hall, CB#3315

Eric Kirby

Eric Kirby

Professor
EMES Department Chair

Specialty: Tectonic Geomorphology

ekirby@unc.edu
919-843-3604
211 Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Google Scholar Profile

Jonathan M. Lees

Jonathan M. Lees

Professor

Specialty: Seismology and Volcanology

jonathan.lees@unc.edu
(919) 962-1562
313 Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Website

Niels Lindquist

Niels Lindquist

Professor

nlindquist@unc.edu
(252) 726-6841 ext. 136
(252) 726-2426
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557
Lindquist Lab

Xiaoming Liu

Xiaoming Liu

Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Admissions

Specialty: Geochemistry

xiaomliu@unc.edu
(919) 962-0675
213 Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Liu Lab
Google Scholar Profile

Ken Lohmann

Ken Lohmann

Charles P. Postelle, Jr. Distinguished Professor, Department of Biology, University of North Carolina
Ken Lohmann’s primary faculty appointment is in the Department of Biology. Dr. Lohmann does not accept graduate students through the Marine Sciences program.

Specialty: Behavior, Sensory Biology, Neuroscience and Conservation of Marine Animals

Klohmann@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-1332
Website

Rick Luettich

Rick Luettich

Alumni Distinguished Professor
Director, Institute of Marine Sciences
Director, Center for Natural Hazards Resilience

rick_luettich@unc.edu
(252) 726-6841 ext. 137
(252) 726-2426
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557
Luettich Lab
Google Scholar Profile

Adrian Marchetti

Adrian Marchetti

Associate Professor

Specialty: Plankton Ecophysiology and Genomics

amarchetti@unc.edu
(919) 843-3473
(919) 962-1254
3117D Murray Hall, CB#3300
Marchetti Lab Website
Google Scholar Profile

Christopher Martens

Christopher Martens

William B. Aycock Distinguished Professor

cmartens@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0152
(919) 962-1254
4202F Murray Hall, CB#3300
Martens Lab

Brent McKee

Brent McKee

Mary and Watts Hill, Jr. Distinguished Professor
Director of Graduate Studies

bamckee@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0298
(919) 962-1254
3117J Murray Hall, CB#3300
Google Scholar Profile

Wei Mei

Wei Mei

Assistant Professor

wmei@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0173
(919) 962-1254
4202D Murray Hall, CB #3300

Ryan Mills

Ryan Mills

Research Assistant Professor

Specialty: Geochemistry

rdmills@unc.edu
327 Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Google Scholar Profile

Laura J. Moore

Laura J. Moore

Professor

Specialty: Coastal Geomorphology

laura.moore@unc.edu
(919) 962-5960
212 Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Coastal Environmental Change Lab

Rachel Noble

Rachel Noble

Mary and Watts Hill Jr. Distinguished Professor of Marine Science

Specialty: Public health, water quality, and land-water interface science

rtnoble@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841 ext. 150
(252) 726-2426
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557
Noble Lab Website
Google Scholar Profile

Janet Nye

Janet Nye

Associate Professor

Specialty: Quantitative Fisheries Ecology

jnye@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557
Nye Lab Website
Google Scholar Profile

Hans Paerl

Hans Paerl

Distinguished Professor

Specialty: Aquatic Microbial Ecology

hpaerl@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841 ext. 133
(252) 726-2426
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557
Paerl Lab
Google Scholar Profile

Tamlin M. Pavelsky

Tamlin M. Pavelsky

Professor

Specialty: Global Hydrology

pavelsky@unc.edu
(919)962-4239
228 Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Global Hydrology Lab Website
Google Scholar Profile

Michael Piehler

Michael Piehler

Professor
Director, Institute for the Environment

mpiehler@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841 ext. 160
(252) 726-2426
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557
Piehler Lab
Google Scholar Profile

Megan F. Plenge

Megan F. Plenge

Teaching Associate Professor
UNC-BEST Coordinator for Earth Science Education

Specialty: Geoscience Education and Pedagogy

mfplenge@unc.edu
(919) 966-4516
105 Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
SERC Website
Google Scholar Profile

Antonio Rodriguez

Antonio Rodriguez

Professor
EMES Department Associate Chair
Morehead City Field Site Coordinator

Specialty: Coastal and Marine Geology

abrodrig@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841 ext. 140
(252) 726-2426
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557
Rodriguez Lab Website
Google Scholar Profile

Johanna Rosman

Johanna Rosman

Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Admissions

Specialty: Coastal and Estuarine Fluid Dynamics

jrosman@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841 ext 224
(252) 726-2426
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557
Rosman lab
Google Scholar Profile

Alberto Scotti

Alberto Scotti

Professor

Specialty: Physical Oceanography

ascotti@unc.edu
(919) 962-9454
(919) 962-1254
3117H Murray Hall, CB#3300
Google Scholar Profile

Antonia Sebastian

Antonia Sebastian

Assistant Professor

Specialty: Applied Hydrology and Water Resources

asebastian@unc.edu
(919)966-4553
324 Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Watershed Hydrology & Flood Hazards

Harvey Seim

Harvey Seim

Professor

harvey_seim@unc.edu
(919) 962-2083
(919) 962-1254
3117G Murray Hall, CB#3300
Seim Lab
Google Scholar Profile

Alecia Septer

Alecia Septer

Associate Professor
Director of Equity & Inclusion

Specialty: Microbiology

asepter@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-3410
4202C Murray, CB#3300
Septer Lab
Google Scholar Profile

Michael J. Shore

Michael J. Shore

Research Professor

Specialty: Geophysics & Seismology

mshore@email.unc.edu
(919) 360-7805

Kevin G. Stewart

Kevin G. Stewart

Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies

Specialty: Structural Geology

kgstewar@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0683
122 Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Google Scholar Profile

Donna Surge

Donna Surge

Professor
Director of Graduate Studies

Specialty: Paleoclimatology, Paleoecology, Low-temperature Geochemistry

donna64@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-1994
225 Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Website
Google Scholar Profile

Andreas Teske

Andreas Teske

Professor

Specialty: Marine microbiology and geochemistry

teske@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-2463
(919) 962-1254
3117B Murray Hall, CB#3315
Teske Lab
Google Scholar Profile

Brian White

Brian White

Associate Professor

Specialty: Fluid Dynamics

bwhite@unc.edu
(919) 962-1677
(919) 962-1254
3117E Murray Hall, CB#3315
Laboratory for Environmental Fluid Dynamics
Google Scholar Profile

Xiao Yang

Xiao Yang

Research Assistant Professor

Specialty: Global hydrology, Remote sensing, Big data analytics

yangxiao@live.unc.edu
Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Global Hydrology Lab
Website
Google Scholar Profile