Faculty


Marc Alperin

Marc Alperin

Associate Professor

Specialty: Chemical Oceanography – Aquatic Biogeochemical Processes

alperin@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-5184
(919) 962-1254
4202B Murray Hall CB#3300, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300
Website

Carol Arnosti

Carol Arnosti

Professor

arnosti@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-5754
(919) 962-1254
3117A Murray Hall CB#3300, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300
Website

John Bane

John Bane

Professor

bane@unc.edu
(919) 962-0172
(919) 962-1254
3117F Murray Hall CB#3300, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300
Website

Larry K. Benninger

Larry K. Benninger

Professor

Specialty: Geochemistry

lbenning@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0699
323 Mitchell Hall
Google Scholar Profile

Jaye Cable

Jaye Cable

Professor
Senior Associate Dean for Natural Sciences and Mathematics, College of Arts and Sciences

Specialty: Geochemistry/Chemical Oceanography

jecable@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-3468
(919) 962-1254
4202H Murray Hall
Google Scholar Profile

Karl Castillo

Karl Castillo

Associate Professor

Specialty: Coral Physiological Ecology, Climate Change, and Conservation

kdcastil@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-8752
(919) 962-1254
4202E Murray Hall CB #3300, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300
Website

Drew S. Coleman

Drew S. Coleman

Professor

Specialty: Isotope Geochemistry/Geochronology

dcoleman@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0705
(919) 966-4519
325 Mitchell Hall
Isotope Geochemistry Lab Page
Website
Google Scholar Profile

Emily Eidam

Emily Eidam

Assistant Professor

Specialty: Coastal Sedimentology

efe@unc.edu
(919) 843-5045
(919) 962-1254
Murray Hall 3117C
Coastal & Fluvial Sediments Lab
Google Scholar Profile

Kennet E. Flores

Kennet E. Flores

Assistant Professor

keflores@unc.edu
(919) 962-0689
310 Mitchell Hall, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300
Website

F. Joel Fodrie

F. Joel Fodrie

Professor

Specialty: Coastal and Estuarine Ecology

jfodrie@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841 ext. 149
(252) 726-2426
3431 Arendell St, Morehead City, NC 28557
Website
Google Scholar Profile

Scott Gifford

Scott Gifford

Associate Professor, Sewell Family Foundation Fellow

Specialty: Microbial Ecology and Biogeochemistry

sgifford@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0269
Murray Hall 4202G
Website
Google Scholar Profile

Nathan Hall

Nathan Hall

Research Assistant Professor

nshall@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841 Ext 228
Website

Michelle Haskin

Michelle Haskin

Assistant Teaching Professor

Specialty: Geoscience Education

mhaskin@email.unc.edu
108-B Mitchell Hall, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

Eric Kirby

Eric Kirby

Professor
EMES Department Chair

Specialty: Tectonic Geomorphology

ekirby@unc.edu
919-843-3604
211 Mitchell Hall, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300
Google Scholar Profile

Jonathan M. Lees

Jonathan M. Lees

Professor

Specialty: Seismology and Volcanology

jonathan.lees@unc.edu
(919) 962-1562
313 Mitchell Hall, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300
Website

Niels Lindquist

Niels Lindquist

Professor

nlindquist@unc.edu
(252) 726-6841, ext. 136
(252) 726-2426
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557
Website

Xiaoming Liu

Xiaoming Liu

Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Admissions

Specialty: Geochemistry

xiaomliu@unc.edu
(919) 962-0675
213 Mitchell Hall
Liu Lab
Google Scholar Profile

Ken Lohmann

Ken Lohmann

Charles P. Postelle, Jr. Distinguished Professor, Department of Biology, University of North Carolina
Ken Lohmann’s primary faculty appointment is in the Department of Biology. Dr. Lohmann does not accept graduate students through the Marine Sciences program.

Specialty: Behavior, Sensory Biology, Neuroscience and Conservation of Marine Animals

Klohmann@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-1332
Website

Rick Luettich

Rick Luettich

Alumni Distinguished Professor
Director, Institute of Marine Sciences
Director, Center for Natural Hazards Resilience

rick_luettich@unc.edu
(252) 726-6841, ext 137
(252) 726-2426
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557
Luettich Lab
Google Scholar Profile

Adrian Marchetti

Adrian Marchetti

Associate Professor

Specialty: Phytoplankton Ecophysiology and Molecular Biology

amarchetti@unc.edu
(919) 843-3473
(919) 962-1254
3117D Murray Hall CB #3300, Chapel Hill NC 27599-3300
Website
Google Scholar Profile

Christopher Martens

Christopher Martens

William B. Aycock Distinguished Professor

cmartens@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0152
(919) 962-1254
4202F Murray Hall CB#3300, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300
Website

Brent McKee

Brent McKee

Mary and Watts Hill, Jr. Distinguished Professor
Director of Graduate Studies

bamckee@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0298
(919) 962-1254
3117J Murray Hall CB#3300, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300
Google Scholar Profile

Wei Mei

Wei Mei

Assistant Professor

wmei@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0173
(919) 962-1254
4202D Murray Hall CB #3300, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

Ryan Mills

Ryan Mills

Research Assistant Professor

Specialty: Isotope Geochemistry, Igneous Petrology, Cosmochemistry

rdmills@unc.edu
327 Mitchell Hall, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

Laura J. Moore

Laura J. Moore

Professor

Specialty: Coastal Geomorphology

laura.moore@unc.edu
(919) 962-5960
212 Mitchell Hall, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300
Website

Rachel Noble

Rachel Noble

Mary and Watts Hill Jr. Distinguished Professor of Marine Science

Specialty: Public health, water quality, and land-water interface science

rtnoble@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841, ext. 150
(252) 726-2426
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557 Room 208
Noble Lab Website
Google Scholar Profile

Janet Nye

Janet Nye

Associate Professor

Specialty: Quantitative Fisheries Ecology

jnye@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557
Website
Google Scholar Profile

Hans Paerl

Hans Paerl

Distinguished Professor

Specialty: Aquatic Microbial Ecology

hpaerl@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841, ext 133
(252) 726-2426
UNC-IMS
Paerl Lab
Google Scholar Profile

Tamlin M. Pavelsky

Tamlin M. Pavelsky

Professor, Associate Chair

Specialty: Global Hydrology

pavelsky@unc.edu
(919)962-4239
228 Mitchell Hall, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300
Website

Michael Piehler

Michael Piehler

Professor
Director, Institute for the Environment

mpiehler@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841; ext. 160
(252) 726-2426
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557
Website
Google Scholar Profile

Megan F. Plenge

Megan F. Plenge

Teaching Associate Professor
UNC-BEST Coordinator for Earth Science Education

Specialty: Geoscience Education and Pedagogy

mfplenge@unc.edu
(919) 966-4516
105 Mitchell Hall
Google Scholar Profile

Antonio Rodriguez

Antonio Rodriguez

Professor
Associate Chair
Field Site Coordinator

abrodrig@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841, ext 140
(252) 726-2426
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557
Website
Google Scholar Profile

Johanna Rosman

Johanna Rosman

Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Admissions

Specialty: Coastal and Estuarine Fluid Dynamics

jrosman@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841 ext 224
(252) 726-2426
UNC-IMS Room 112
Rosman lab
Website
Google Scholar Profile

Alberto Scotti

Alberto Scotti

Professor

ascotti@unc.edu
(919) 962-9454
(919) 962-1254
3202J Murray Hall CB#3300, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300
Website

Antonia Sebastian

Antonia Sebastian

Assistant Professor

Specialty: Applied Hydrology and Water Resources

asebastian@unc.edu
(919)966-4553
324 Mitchell Hall, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300
Website

Harvey Seim

Harvey Seim

Professor

harvey_seim@unc.edu
(919) 962-2083
(919) 962-1254
3117G Murray Hall CB#3300, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300
Website

Alecia Septer

Alecia Septer

Associate Professor
Director of Equity & Inclusion

Specialty: Microbiology

asepter@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-3410
4202C Venable/Murray Hall
Septer Lab
Google Scholar Profile

Michael J. Shore

Michael J. Shore

Research Professor

Specialty: Geophysics & Seismology

mshore@email.unc.edu
(919) 360-7805

Kevin G. Stewart

Kevin G. Stewart

Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies

Specialty: Structural Geology

kgstewar@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0683
122 Mitchell Hall, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300
Website

Donna Surge

Donna Surge

Professor
Director of Graduate Studies

Specialty: Paleoclimatology, Paleoecology, Low-temperature Geochemistry

donna64@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-1994
225 Mitchell Hall, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300
Website
Google Scholar Profile

Andreas Teske

Andreas Teske

Professor

teske@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-2463
(919) 962-1254
3117B Murray Hall CB#3300, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300
Website

Brian White

Brian White

Associate Professor

bwhite@unc.edu
(919) 962-1677
(919) 962-1254
3117E Murray Hall CB#3300, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300
Website