Faculty


Marc Alperin

Marc Alperin

Associate Professor

Specialty: Chemical Oceanography – Aquatic Biogeochemical Processes

alperin@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-5184
(919) 962-1254
4202B Murray Hall CB#3300, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

Carol Arnosti

Carol Arnosti

Professor


arnosti@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-5754
(919) 962-1254
3117A Murray Hall CB#3300, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

John Bane

John Bane

Professor


bane@unc.edu
(919) 962-0172
(919) 962-1254
3117F Murray Hall CB#3300, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

Larry K. Benninger

Larry K. Benninger

Professor

Specialty: Low-Temperature Geochemistry

lbenning@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0699
323 Mitchell Hall, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

Jaye Cable

Jaye Cable

Professor; Senior Associate Dean for Natural Sciences and Mathematics, College of Arts and Sciences

Specialty: Coastal Hydrology and Geochemistry

jecable@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-3468
(919) 962-1254
4202H Murray Hall CB# 3300, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

Karl Castillo

Karl Castillo

Associate Professor

Specialty: Coral Physiological Ecology, Climate Change, and Conservation

kdcastil@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-8752
(919) 962-1254
4202E Murray Hall CB #3300, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

Drew S. Coleman

Drew S. Coleman

Professor

Specialty: Isotope Geochemistry, Geochronology

dcoleman@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0705
325 Mitchell Hall, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

Emily Eidam

Emily Eidam

Assistant Professor


efe@unc.edu
(919) 843-5045
(919) 962-1254
3117C Murray Hall CB #3300, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

Kennet E. Flores

Kennet E. Flores

Assistant Professor


keflores@unc.edu
(919) 962-0689
310 Mitchell Hall, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

F. Joel Fodrie

F. Joel Fodrie

Professor, IMS

Specialty: Coastal and Estuarine Ecology

jfodrie@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841 ext. 149
(252) 726-2426
3431 Arendell St, Morehead City, NC 28557

Scott Gifford

Scott Gifford

Associate Professor, Sewell Family Foundation Fellow


sgifford@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0269
4202G Murray Hall CB#3300, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

Nathan Hall

Nathan Hall

Research Assistant Professor


nshall@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841 Ext 228

Michelle Haskin

Michelle Haskin

Assistant Teaching Professor

Specialty: Geoscience Education

mhaskin@email.unc.edu
108-B Mitchell Hall, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

Joel W. Hudley

Joel W. Hudley

Assistant Teaching Professor

Specialty: Sedimentology and Paleoclimatology

jhudley@unc.edu
(919) 962-5045
224 Mitchell Hall, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

Eric Kirby

Eric Kirby

Professor and Department Chair

Specialty: Tectonic Geomorphology

ekirby@unc.edu
919-843-3604
211 Mitchell Hall, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

Jonathan M. Lees

Jonathan M. Lees

Professor

Specialty: Seismology and Volcanology

jonathan.lees@unc.edu
(919) 962-1562
313 Mitchell Hall, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

Niels Lindquist

Niels Lindquist

Professor, IMS


nlindquist@unc.edu
(252) 726-6841, ext. 136
(252) 726-2426
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557

Xiaoming Liu

Xiaoming Liu

Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Admissions

Specialty: Geochemistry

xiaomliu@unc.edu
(919) 962-0675
213 Mitchell Hall, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

Ken Lohmann

Ken Lohmann

Charles P. Postelle, Jr. Distinguished Professor, Department of Biology, University of North Carolina
Ken Lohmann’s primary faculty appointment is in the Department of Biology. Dr. Lohmann does not accept graduate students through the Marine Sciences program.

Specialty: Behavior, Sensory Biology, Neuroscience and Conservation of Marine Animals

Klohmann@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-1332

Rick Luettich

Rick Luettich

Alumni Distinguished Professor;
Director, Institute of Marine Sciences;
Director, Center for Natural Hazards Resilience


rick_luettich@unc.edu
(252) 726-6841, ext 137
(252) 726-2426
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557

Adrian Marchetti

Adrian Marchetti

Associate Professor

Specialty: Phytoplankton Ecophysiology and Molecular Biology

amarchetti@unc.edu
(919) 843-3473
(919) 962-1254
3117D Murray Hall CB #3300, Chapel Hill NC 27599-3300

Christopher Martens

Christopher Martens

William B. Aycock Distinguished Professor


cmartens@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0152
(919) 962-1254
4202F Murray Hall CB#3300, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

Brent McKee

Brent McKee

Mary and Watts Hill, Jr. Distinguished Professor
Director of Graduate Studies


bamckee@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0298
(919) 962-1254
3117J Murray Hall CB#3300, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

Wei Mei

Wei Mei

Assistant Professor


wmei@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0173
(919) 962-1254
4202D Murray Hall CB #3300, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

Ryan Mills

Ryan Mills

Research Assistant Professor

Specialty: Isotope Geochemistry, Igneous Petrology, Cosmochemistry

rdmills@unc.edu
327 Mitchell Hall, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

Laura J. Moore

Laura J. Moore

Professor

Specialty: Coastal Geomorphology

laura.moore@unc.edu
(919) 962-5960
212 Mitchell Hall, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

Rachel Noble

Rachel Noble

Mary & Watts Hill Jr. Professor


rtnoble@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841, ext. 150
(252) 726-2426
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557

Janet Nye

Janet Nye

Associate Professor, IMS

Specialty: Quantitative Fisheries Ecology

jnye@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557

Hans Paerl

Hans Paerl

Distinguished Professor, IMS


hpaerl@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841, ext 133
(252) 726-2426
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557

Tamlin M. Pavelsky

Tamlin M. Pavelsky

Professor, Associate Chair

Specialty: Global Hydrology

pavelsky@unc.edu
(919)962-4239
228 Mitchell Hall, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

Michael Piehler

Michael Piehler

Professor, IMS; Director, Institute for the Environment


mpiehler@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841; ext. 160
(252) 726-2426
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557

Megan F. Plenge

Megan F. Plenge

Teaching Associate Professor
UNC-BEST Coordinator for Earth Science Education

Specialty: Geoscience Education

mfplenge@unc.edu
(919)966-4516
116 Mitchell Hall, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

Antonio Rodriguez

Antonio Rodriguez

Professor
Associate Chair
Field Site Coordinator


abrodrig@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841, ext 140
(252) 726-2426
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557

Johanna Rosman

Johanna Rosman

Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Admissions


jrosman@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841 ext 224
(252) 726-2426
3431 Arendell Street Morehead City, NC 28557

Alberto Scotti

Alberto Scotti

Professor


ascotti@unc.edu
(919) 962-9454
(919) 962-1254
3202J Murray Hall CB#3300, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

Antonia Sebastian

Antonia Sebastian

Assistant Professor

Specialty: Applied Hydrology and Water Resources

asebastian@unc.edu
(919)966-4553
324 Mitchell Hall, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

Harvey Seim

Harvey Seim

Professor


harvey_seim@unc.edu
(919) 962-2083
(919) 962-1254
3117G Murray Hall CB#3300, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

Alecia Septer

Alecia Septer

Assistant Professor
DEI


asepter@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-3410
4202C Venable/Murray Hall CB#3300, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

Michael J. Shore

Michael J. Shore

Research Professor

Specialty: Seismology, Applied Geophysics, Infrasound, Underground Space

mshore@email.unc.edu
(919) 360-7805

Kevin G. Stewart

Kevin G. Stewart

Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies

Specialty: Structural Geology

kgstewar@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0683
122 Mitchell Hall, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

Donna Surge

Donna Surge

Professor
Director of Graduate Studies

Specialty: Paleoclimatology, Paleoecology, Low-temperature Geochemistry

donna64@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-1994
225 Mitchell Hall, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

Andreas Teske

Andreas Teske

Professor


teske@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-2463
(919) 962-1254
3117B Murray Hall CB#3300, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300

Brian White

Brian White

Associate Professor


bwhite@unc.edu
(919) 962-1677
(919) 962-1254
3117E Murray Hall CB#3300, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3300