Skip to main content

Tenured/Tenured Track Faculty


Marc Alperin

Marc Alperin

Associate Professor

Specialty: Chemical Oceanography – Aquatic Biogeochemical Processes
alperin@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-5184
(919) 962-1254
4202B Murray Hall, CB#3300

Alperin Lab

Carol Arnosti

Carol Arnosti

Professor

Specialty: Marine Organic Chemistry and Microbial Biogeochemistry
arnosti@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-5754
(919) 962-1254
3117A Murray Hall, CB#3300
Google Scholar Profile

Arnosti Lab Website

John Bane

John Bane

Professor

bane@unc.edu
(919) 962-0172
(919) 962-1254
3117F Murray Hall, CB#3300

Bane Lab

Jaye Cable

Jaye Cable

Professor
Senior Associate Dean for Natural Sciences and Mathematics, College of Arts and Sciences

Specialty: Geochemistry/Chemical Oceanography
jecable@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-3468
(919) 962-1254
4202H Murray Hall, CB#3300
Google Scholar Profile

Karl Castillo

Karl Castillo

Associate Professor

Specialty: Coral Physiological Ecology, Climate Change, and Conservation
kdcastil@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-8752
(919) 962-1254
4202E Murray Hall, CB#3300
Google Scholar Profile

Castillo Lab

Drew S. Coleman

Drew S. Coleman

Chair, Environment, Ecology and Energy Program
Professor

Specialty: Isotope Geochemistry/Geochronology
dcoleman@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0705
(919) 966-4519
325 Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Google Scholar Profile

Isotope Geochemistry Lab Page

Kennet E. Flores Reyes

Kennet E. Flores Reyes

Assistant Professor

Specialty: Petrologic and Tectonic processes
keflores@unc.edu
(919) 962-0689
310 Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Personal Website
Google Scholar Profile

F. Joel Fodrie

F. Joel Fodrie

Professor

Specialty: Estuarine and Fisheries Ecology
jfodrie@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841 ext. 149
(252) 726-2426
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557
Google Scholar Profile

Estuarine and fisheries ecology website

Scott Gifford

Scott Gifford

Associate Professor, Sewell Family Foundation Fellow

Specialty: Microbial Ecology and Biogeochemistry
sgifford@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0269
4202G Murray Hall, CB#3300
Google Scholar Profile

Gifford Lab

Eric Kirby

Eric Kirby

Professor
EMES Department Chair

Specialty: Tectonic Geomorphology
ekirby@unc.edu
919-843-3604
211 Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Google Scholar Profile

Jonathan M. Lees

Jonathan M. Lees

Professor

Specialty: Seismology and Volcanology
jonathan.lees@unc.edu
(919) 962-1562
313 Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Google Scholar Profile

Website

Niels Lindquist

Niels Lindquist

Professor

nlindquist@unc.edu
(252) 726-6841 ext. 136
(252) 726-2426
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557

Lindquist Lab

Xiaoming Liu

Xiaoming Liu

Associate Professor

Specialty: Geochemistry
xiaomliu@unc.edu
(919) 962-0675
213 Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Google Scholar Profile

Liu Lab

Rick Luettich

Rick Luettich

Distinguished Professor
Director, Institute of Marine Sciences
Director, Center for Natural Hazards Resilience

rick_luettich@unc.edu
(252) 726-6841 ext. 137
(252) 726-2426
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557
Google Scholar Profile

Luettich Lab

Adrian Marchetti

Adrian Marchetti

Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies

Specialty: Plankton Ecophysiology and Genomics
amarchetti@unc.edu
(919) 843-3473
(919) 962-1254
3117D Murray Hall, CB#3300
Google Scholar Profile

Marchetti Lab Website

Christopher Martens

Christopher Martens

Distinguished Professor

cmartens@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0152
(919) 962-1254
4202F Murray Hall, CB#3300

Martens Lab

Brent McKee

Brent McKee

Distinguished Professor

bamckee@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0298
(919) 962-1254
3117J Murray Hall, CB#3300
Google Scholar Profile

Wei Mei

Wei Mei

Assistant Professor

wmei@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0173
(919) 962-1254
4202D Murray Hall, CB #3300
Google Scholar Profile

Laura J. Moore

Laura J. Moore

Professor

Specialty: Coastal Geomorphology
laura.moore@unc.edu
(919) 962-5960
212 Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Google Scholar Profile

Coastal Environmental Change Lab

Rachel Noble

Rachel Noble

Mary and Watts Hill Jr. Distinguished Professor of Marine Science

Specialty: Public health, water quality, and land-water interface science
rtnoble@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841 ext. 150
(252) 726-2426
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557
Google Scholar Profile

Noble Lab Website

Janet Nye

Janet Nye

Associate Professor

Specialty: Quantitative Fisheries Ecology
jnye@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557
Google Scholar Profile

Nye Lab Website

Hans Paerl

Hans Paerl

Distinguished Professor

Specialty: Aquatic Microbial Ecology
hpaerl@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841 ext. 133
(252) 726-2426
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557
Google Scholar Profile

Paerl Lab

Tamlin M. Pavelsky

Tamlin M. Pavelsky

Professor

Specialty: Global Hydrology
pavelsky@unc.edu
(919)962-4239
228 Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Google Scholar Profile

Global Hydrology Lab Website

Michael Piehler

Michael Piehler

Professor
Director, Institute for the Environment

mpiehler@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841 ext. 160
(252) 726-2426
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557
Google Scholar Profile

Piehler Lab

Antonio Rodriguez

Antonio Rodriguez

Professor
EMES Department Associate Chair
Morehead City Field Site Coordinator

Specialty: Coastal and Marine Geology
abrodrig@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841 ext. 140
(252) 726-2426
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557
Google Scholar Profile

Rodriguez Lab Website

Johanna Rosman

Johanna Rosman

Associate Professor

Specialty: Coastal and Estuarine Fluid Dynamics
jrosman@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841 ext 224
(252) 726-2426
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557
Google Scholar Profile

Rosman lab

Antonia Sebastian

Antonia Sebastian

Assistant Professor

Specialty: Applied Hydrology and Water Resources
asebastian@unc.edu
(919)966-4553
324 Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Google Scholar Profile

Watershed Hydrology & Flood Hazards

Harvey Seim

Harvey Seim

Professor

harvey_seim@unc.edu
(919) 962-2083
(919) 962-1254
3117G Murray Hall, CB#3300
Google Scholar Profile

Seim Lab

Alecia Septer

Alecia Septer

Associate Professor
Director of Equity & Inclusion

Specialty: Microbiology
asepter@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-3410
4202C Murray, CB#3300
Google Scholar Profile

Septer Lab

Kevin G. Stewart

Kevin G. Stewart

Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies

Specialty: Structural Geology
kgstewar@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0683
122 Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Google Scholar Profile

Donna Surge

Donna Surge

Professor

Specialty: Paleoclimatology, Paleoecology, Low-temperature Geochemistry
donna64@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-1994
225 Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Personal Website
Google Scholar Profile

Andreas Teske

Andreas Teske

Professor

Specialty: Marine microbiology and geochemistry
teske@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-2463
(919) 962-1254
3117B Murray Hall, CB#3315
Google Scholar Profile

Teske Lab