Graduate Students

Taylor Asher

Taylor Asher

Luettich Lab

Hydrodynamics and statistical/physical flood hazards

tgasher@live.unc.edu

Malcolm Barnard

Malcolm Barnard

Paerl Lab

CyanoHAB dynamics, limnetic phycology, and ecotoxicology

malcolm.barnard@unc.edu
Institute of Marine Sciences
Personal Website
Google Scholar Profile
@mabecologist

Lindsey Blankenship

Lindsey Blankenship

Lee Lab

I’m part of Dr. Jonathan Lees research group, where my research will focus on seismology, volcanology, and infrasound. During my free time, I like to bake, paint, go hiking, and kayaking.

lindsnb@email.unc.edu

Scott Booth

Scott Booth

McKee Lab

Coastal geochemistry and sediment transport

mscottb@ad.unc.edu
Murray/Venable Hall

Molly Bost

Molly Bost

Rodriguez Lab

Coastal geology, sedimentology, and geomorphology

mbost@live.unc.edu
(IMS) Coker 262
Personal Website
Google Scholar Profile
@MollyBost

Garrett Braniecki

Garrett Braniecki

Surge Lab

I am currently a Masters Degree seeking graduate student working with Dr. Surge in Paleoclimatology.  When I have free time I enjoy golfing, disc golfing, bowling, and camping.

braniegf@email.unc.edu
Department of Geological Sciences, 219

Yun Chang

Yun Chang

Theoretical and Computational Fluid Dynamics

yunchang@email.unc.edu
Murray/Venable Hall

Cathleen Christopher

Cathleen Christopher

I am a master’s student in Dr. Tamlin Pavelsky’s Global Hydrology lab. My research involves using remote sensing imagery to study various aspects of water quality in Jordan Lake and Falls Lake, North Carolina. Outside of school, I enjoy swimming, thrift shopping, and watching all kinds of movies

mcc8863@live.unc.edu
Department of Geological Sciences, 208

Mark Ciesielski

Mark Ciesielski

Noble Lab

Marine Microbiology

mciesi3@unc.edu
@mark_ciesielski

Melanie Cohn

Melanie Cohn

Gifford Lab

Role of marine bacterial metabolism in carbon cycling

mcohn@live.unc.edu
Murray Hall 3105K

Julianne Davis

Julianne Davis

I am a doctoral student in Dr. Tamlin Pavelsky’s Global Hydrology Lab. My current research uses remote sensing to better understand the spatial and temporal variability in sediment transport through sub-Arctic rivers and deltas. Before coming to UNC, I used remote sensing to study stream restoration projects in the western United States and crater degradation at landing sites on Mars. When I’m not at my desk, I am likely to be found trying new recipes with my latest farmer’s market finds, reading books about water, or hiking and exploring local parks.

jmsdavis@email.unc.edu
Department of Geological Sciences, 208

Wayana Dolan

Wayana Dolan

Dr. Tamlin Pavelsky

I am a Ph.D. student working with Dr. Tamlin Pavelsky in the Global Hydrology Lab.  Research interests include remote sensing, Arctic hydrology, and geoscience education

Apart from my research, I enjoy partner dancing, biking, and spending time with friends and family.

whyana@live.unc.edu
Mitchell Hall, 214

Marissa Dudek

Marissa Dudek

I am a Ph.D. student working with Dr. Ryan Mills and Dr. Tamlin Pavelsky. My research focuses on impact cratering and geologic processes of inner solar system terrestrial bodies.

Prior to my time at UNC, I was a NASA DEVELOP National Program participant at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, CA. While there, I used applied remote sensing to detect surface subsidence in California due to overpumping of the Central Valley aquifer, and in Fairbanks, Alaska due to permafrost thaw. My undergraduate research focused on building a theoretical crater size-frequency distribution for Venus to constrain the age of crustal resurfacing.

mjdudek@email.unc.edu
Department of Geological Sciences, 208

Ileana Fenwick

Ileana Fenwick

Nye Lab

ileanaf@email.unc.edu
919-962-1252
Murray/Venable Hall
@illy_faye

Benton Franklin

Benton Franklin

Coastal Environmental Change Lab

Coastal Geomorphology

I’m one of Dr. Laura Moore’s PhD students in the Coastal Environmental Change Lab. I’m a huge fan of the Atlanta Braves and the MLB. I enjoy playing historical wargames like Here I Stand or Paths of Glory.

wbenton@email.unc.edu
Mitchell Hall 222

Aliyah Griffith

Aliyah Griffith

Coral Reef Ecophysiology and Conservation

aliyahg@live.unc.edu
Murray Hall 3105A

Lauren Grimley

Lauren Grimley

I am an early-career scientist studying the how natural hazards shape, alter, and sustain communities and landscapes across space and time. I am currently a PhD student at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill working with Dr. Antonia Sebastian to determine the cascading socioeconomic impacts of consecutive and compound natural hazards. My research aims at connecting the physical and social dimensions of risk to ensure that the benefits and safety provided by hazard management and climate adaptation strategies are equitably distributed now and into the future.

lauren.grimley@unc.edu
Department of Geological Sciences

Jana Haddad

Jana Haddad

Luettich Lab

Coastal processes, hydrodynamic modeling

jhaddad2@live.unc.edu
Personal Website
@JanaKHaddad

Lu Han

Lu Han

Physical oceanography & meteorology and coastal water dynamics

luh@live.unc.edu
Venable Hall 3309

Will Hefner

whefner@unc.edu
Mitchell 320

Josh Himmelstein

Josh Himmelstein

Rodriguez Lab

Coastal landform evolution in the Anthropocene

jhimmel@email.unc.edu
919-962-1252
Murray/Venable Hall
Personal Website
@joshimmel

Joshua Himmelstein

Rodriguez Lab

jhimmel@email.unc.edu
+1 (919) 903-6320
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557
Google Scholar Profile

Hunter Hughes

Hunter Hughes

Paleoclimatology

hphughes@email.unc.edu
Department of Geological Sciences, 219

Zofia Knorek

Zofia Knorek

Fodrie Lab

Effect of invasive species and local pests on community dynamics and function

zofia@live.unc.edu
Personal Website
@zofiaknorek

Lina Koschik

Lina Koschik

Liu Lab

I am interested in tracing redox evolution throughout Earth history using non-traditional stable isotope proxies.

ckoschik@unc.edu
+1 (919) 962-1250
Mitchell Hall 210A
Linkedin

Kyle Krajewski

Kyle Krajewski

Coleman Lab

I am a master’s student under Drew Coleman. My research is focused on the Roosevelt Hot Springs Geothermal System in the Mineral Mountains, Utah. Specifically, I characterize the faults within the system using U-Pb isotope geochemistry. A better understanding of these faults provides a better understanding of the flow of super-heated water in the subsurface, which is used to power geothermal plants.

kylejk@live.unc.edu

Ted Langhorst

Ted Langhorst

tlang@live.unc.edu
Mitchell Hall 208

Shuo Li

Shuo Li

Mei Lab

Hurricanes and Climate Change

shuo@live.unc.edu
Murray Hall 3202C

Johnson (YuanYu) Lin

Johnson (YuanYu) Lin

Marchetti Lab

Phytoplankton physiology and marine microbiology

johnsony@live.unc.edu
Murray Hall 3105C

C. Chad Lloyd

C. Chad Lloyd

Chemical oceanography and the carbon cycle

cclloyd@live.unc.edu
Murray Hall 3117L

Alexis Lopez

Alexis Lopez

Economic Geology, Isotope Geochemistry, and Structural Geology
I am a Ph.D student working with Drew Coleman. I am interested in a number of areas of geology and have yet to choose my project!
In my free time, I enjoy reading, gaming, rollerblading, hiking with my cat (Momo), running, and traveling.
arlopez1@email.unc.edu

Ashley Lynn

Ashley Lynn

Structural Geology

aslynn@email.unc.edu
Department of Geological Sciences, 105A

Alayna Mackiewicz

Alayna Mackiewicz

Sensory biology & animal navigation and migration

alaynam@live.unc.edu

John Malito

John Malito

Coastal Sediments Lab

Coastal Sediment Dynamics in the Arctic

malito@unc.edu
Murray Hall 3117Y

Sofia Marino

Sofia Marino

Structural Geology – fault and fault tip characterization, seismic and aseismic structures, scaling relationships.

smarino@unc.edu
(919) 962-1252

Meredith Meyer

Meredith Meyer

Marchetti Lab

Phytoplankton Ecology & Physiology and Carbon Cycling

mgmeyer9@email.unc.edu
Murray Hall 3117K
Personal Website

Allison Murrie

Allison Murrie

Coleman Lab

I am a Ph.D student working with Drew Coleman. I’m using Li isotopes to understand the evolution of pegmatitic systems.

Outside of school, I like spending time in the mountains, searching for outcrops to collect samples to add to my rock collection, and watching hockey.

amurrie@live.unc.edu
Mitchell 304

Lewis Naisbett-Jones

Lewis Naisbett-Jones

Fish migration, behavior and sensory ecology

lewisnj@live.unc.edu
919-260-9112

Stephanie Peak

Castillo Lab

I am a PhD student in the Biology Department co-advised by Christopher Willet and Karl Castillo. My main interest is in marine science/coral biology.

speak@unc.edu
941-713-4967

Haley Plaas

Haley Plaas

Paerl Lab

Harmful algae blooms

hplaas@live.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841
Google Scholar Profile
@HABhaley

Hunter Quintal

Hunter Quintal

Watershed Hydrology & Flood Hazards

Watershed Hydrology, Flood Impact Analysis

hquintal@email.unc.edu
Department of Geological Sciences, 309
Google Scholar Profile
https://www.linkedin.com/in/hunter-quintal-14a722104/

John Ratcliff

John Ratcliff

Luettich Lab

Physical Oceanography / Storm Surge Modeling

jddratli@live.unc.edu