Skip to main content

Graduate Students


Lindsey Blankenship

Lindsey Blankenship

Advisor: Dr. Jonathan Lee
Seismology, volcanology, and infrasound
lindsnb@email.unc.edu
Lee Lab

Scott Booth

Scott Booth

Advisor: Dr. Brent McKee

Coastal geochemistry and sediment transport


mscottb@ad.unc.edu
Murray Hall, CB#3300
McKee Lab
Garrett Braniecki

Garrett Braniecki

Advisor: Dr. Surge
Paleoclimatology
braniegf@email.unc.edu
Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Surge Lab

Sarah Brown

Sarah Brown

Primary affiliation:

UNC Environment, Ecology and Energy Program

Advisor: Carol Arnosti

sbrown21@live.unc.edu
(919) 966-9256

Christopher Chambers

Christopher Chambers

Advisor: Andrew Teske

Microbial biogeochemistry


crchambe@live.unc.edu
Murray Hall 3117X
Yun Chang

Yun Chang

Advisor: Dr. Alberto Scotti

Theoretical and Computational Fluid Dynamics


yunchang@email.unc.edu
Murray Hall, CB#3300
Mingying Chuo

Mingying Chuo

Advisor: Nathan Hall
Marine Sciences
mchuo@unc.edu
3105A Murray Hall, CB#3300
Paerl Lab

Mark Ciesielski

Mark Ciesielski

Advisor: Rachel Noble

Marine Microbiology


mciesi3@unc.edu
@mark_ciesielski
Noble Lab
Melanie Cohn

Melanie Cohn

Advisor: Scott Gifford
Marine Microbiology and Carbon Cycling
mcohn@live.unc.edu
3105K Murray Hall, CB#3300
Personal Website
@ScithoughtsM
Gifford Lab

Caroline Cooper

Caroline Cooper

Advisor: Emily Eidam
Coastal modeling and sediment dynamics
coopcr@ad.unc.edu
Eidam Lab

Julianne Davis

Julianne Davis

Advisor: Dr. Tamlin Pavelsky
Fluvial geomorphology, sediment transport, boreal hydrology, delta progradation, and morphodynamic modeling
jmsdavis@email.unc.edu
Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Global Hydrology Lab

Wayana Dolan

Wayana Dolan

Advisor: Dr. Tamlin Pavelsky
Remote sensing, Arctic hydrology, Geoscience education
whyana@live.unc.edu
Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Global Hydrology Lab

Sally Dowd

Sally Dowd


Fisheries Ecology
sdowd@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841 ext 168
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557
@sallycdowd
Nye Lab
Marissa Dudek

Marissa Dudek

Advisor: Dr. Ryan Mills and Dr. Tamlin Pavelsky
Impact cratering and geologic processes of inner solar system terrestrial bodies.
mjdudek@email.unc.edu
Mitchell Hall, CB#3315

Anastasia Dulskiy

Anastasia Dulskiy

Primary affiliation:

UNC Environment, Ecology and Energy Program

Advisor: Karl Castillo
Coral microbial ecology
adulskiy@unc.edu
Personal Website
@AnaDulskiy
Castillo Lab

Colin Eimers

Advisor: Dr. Rachel Noble

IMS 265
Noble Lab

Eve Eisemann

Eve Eisemann

Advisor: Dr. Laura Moore
 Coastal Geomorphology
eeisemann@unc.edu
Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Google Scholar Profile
@morphodyn
Coastal Environmental Change Lab

Ileana Fenwick

Ileana Fenwick

Advisor: Janet Nye
Community Ecology, Quantitative Fisheries Ecology
ileanaf@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-1252
Murray Hall, CB#3300
@_ileanaf
Nye Lab

Rebecca Flick

Advisor: Joel Fodrie

rflick@unc.edu
IMS 159
Fodrie Lab

Benton Franklin

Benton Franklin

Advisor: Dr. Laura Moore
Coastal Geomorphology
wbenton@ad.unc.edu
Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Coastal Environmental Change Lab

Nick Funnell

Nick Funnell

Primary affiliation:

UNC Environment, Ecology and Energy Program

Advisor: Joel Fodrie

Marine community ecology, restoration, and conservation; human-environment interactions; sustainable aquaculture


nfunnell@email.unc.edu
3117W Murray Hall, CB#3300
@nachofunnell
Fodrie Lab
Daniel Goldman

Daniel Goldman

Advisor: Kennet Flores
Petrology, Geochemistry
dgoldman@unc.edu
(919) 962-1250
Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Linkedin
Flores Lab

Aliyah Griffith

Aliyah Griffith

Advisor: Dr. Karl Castillo

Coral Reef Ecophysiology and Conservation


aliyahg@live.unc.edu
3105A Murray Hall, CB#3300
@cnidariannerd
Nataly Guevara

Nataly Guevara

Advisor: Scott Gifford

nguevara@live.unc.edu
Murray Hall 3105B

Jana Haddad

Jana Haddad

Advisor: Rick Luettich

Coastal processes, hydrodynamic modeling


jhaddad2@live.unc.edu
Personal Website
Google Scholar Profile
@JanaKHaddad
Luettich Lab
Lu Han

Lu Han

Advisor: Harvey Seim

Physical oceanography & meteorology and coastal water dynamics


luh@live.unc.edu
3309 Murray Hall, CB#3300

Sean Hart

Advisor: Johanna Rosman

Hydrodynamic Modeling, Interactions of ocean currents and waves with complex reef topography


seanhart@unc.edu
Murray Hall, CB#3300
Will Hefner

Will Hefner


Topography in the Klamath Mountains and Coast Range of Northern California and Southern Oregon


whefner@unc.edu
Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Joshua Himmelstein

Joshua Himmelstein

Advisor: Antonio Rodriguez
Coastal Geomorphology
jhimmel@email.unc.edu
(919) 903-6320
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557
Personal Website
Google Scholar Profile
@joshimmel
Rodriguez Lab

Hunter Hughes

Hunter Hughes

Advisor: Dr. Donna Surge
Paleoclimatology
hphughes@email.unc.edu
Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
@HPHughesCraft
Paleoclimate Lab

Yubeen Jeong

Advisor: Harvey Seim
Physical oceanography
ybjeong@unc.edu

Lina Koschik

Lina Koschik

Advisor: Xiaoming Liu
Geochemistry
ckoschik@ad.unc.edu
(919) 962-1250
Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Linkedin
Liu Lab

Ted Langhorst

Ted Langhorst

Advisor: Tamlin Pavelsky
Fluvial Geomorphology, Remote Sensing
tlang@live.unc.edu
Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Personal Website
Google Scholar Profile
@TedLanghorst
Global Hydrology Lab

Gibson Leavitt

Gibson Leavitt

Advisor: Alberto Scotti
Internal Waves; Computational Fluid Dynamics
gleavitt@unc.edu

Shuo Li

Shuo Li

Advisor: Wei Mei

Hurricanes and Climate Change


shuo@live.unc.edu
3202C Murray Hall, CB#3300 3105C Murray Hall, CB#3300
Mei Lab
Johnson (YuanYu) Lin

Johnson (YuanYu) Lin

Advisor: Adrian Marchetti

Phytoplankton physiology and marine microbiology


johnsony@live.unc.edu
3105C Murray Hall, CB#3300
Marchetti Lab
C. Chad Lloyd

C. Chad Lloyd

Advisor: Carol Arnosti

Chemical oceanography and the carbon cycle


cclloyd@live.unc.edu
3117L Murray Hall, CB#3300
Alexis Longmire

Alexis Longmire

Primary affiliation:

UNC Environment, Ecology and Energy Program

Advisor: Joel Fodrie

alongmire@unc.edu
Fodrie Lab

Alexis Lopez

Alexis Lopez

Advisor: Drew Coleman

arlopez1@email.unc.edu
Mitchell Hall CB#3304
Coleman Lab

Ashley Lynn

Ashley Lynn

Advisor: Kevin G. Stewart

Structural Geology


aslynn@email.unc.edu
Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Stewart Lab
Sydney Maguire

Sydney Maguire

Advisor: Erik Kirby
Tectonic Geomorphology
smaguire@unc.edu
(919) 962-1250
Mitchell Hall, CB#3315

David Malcolm

David Malcolm

Advisor: Scott Gifford
Metagenomics and Spatial Ecology
lmalcolm@unc.edu
(904) 535-8506
Murray Hall, Rm. 3105B
Linkedin

Sofia Marino

Sofia Marino

Advisor: Eric Kirby
Structural Geology
smari115@ad.unc.edu
(919) 962-1252
Kirby Lab

Meredith Meyer

Meredith Meyer

Advisor: Dr. Adrian Marchetti
Biological Oceanography
mgmeyer9@email.unc.edu
3117K Murray Hall, CB#3300
Personal Website
@mgmeyer9
Marchetti Lab

Allison Murrie

Allison Murrie

Advisor: Drew Coleman
Using Li isotopes to understand the evolution of pegmatitic systems.
amurrie@live.unc.edu
Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Coleman Lab

Lewis Naisbett-Jones

Lewis Naisbett-Jones

Primary affiliation:

UNC Biology

Advisor: Kenneth Lohmann & Joel Fodrie
Marine Biology
lewisnj@live.unc.edu
919-260-9112
Coker Hall, Chapel Hill
Personal Website
Google Scholar Profile
@Lewis_N_Jones
Lohmann Lab

Tyler O’keefe

Madeleine Payne

Advisor: Joel Fodrie

IMS 159
Fodrie Lab