Skip to main content

Graduate Students


Isabela Marie Arauz

Isabela Marie Arauz

Advisor: Tamlin Pavelsky
Remote Sensing applied in Coastal Flooding
iarauz@ad.unc.edu
(970) 889-9101
Mitchell #214
LinkedIn
Global Hydrology Lab

Jack Baer

Jack Baer

Advisor: Antonia Sebastian
Hydrologic and hydraulic modeling, ensemble modeling approaches, climate change, natural hazards, machine learning
jabaer@unc.edu
Mitchell 309
Flood Hydrology and Hazards

Kamya Bates

Kamya Bates

Advisor: Dr. Joel Fodrie
Coastal Ecology
batesnk@unc.edu
Murray 3105B
LinkedIn
Estuarine Ecology Lab

Garrett Braniecki

Garrett Braniecki

Advisor: Dr. Surge
Paleoclimatology, Low Temperature Geochemistry, Sclerochronology
braniegf@email.unc.edu
Mitchell Hall 219
Google Scholar Profile
Surge Lab

Heather Bruck

Heather Bruck

Advisor: Joel Fodrie
Coastal Community Ecology
hbruck@unc.edu
Institute for Marine Sciences, Morehead City
Personal Website

Jianing Chen

Advisor: Wei Mei

Tropical cyclones


jnchen@unc.edu
Venable Hall
Mingying Chuo

Mingying Chuo

Advisor: Nathan Hall
Marine Sciences
mchuo@unc.edu
3105A Murray Hall, CB#3300
Paerl Lab

Melanie Cohn

Melanie Cohn

Advisor: Scott Gifford
Marine Microbiology and Carbon Cycling
mcohn@live.unc.edu
3105K Murray Hall, CB#3300
Personal Website
@ScithoughtsM
Gifford Lab

Caroline Cooper

Caroline Cooper

Advisor: Emily Eidam
Coastal modeling and sediment dynamics
coopcr@ad.unc.edu
Eidam Lab

Julianne Davis

Julianne Davis

Advisor: Dr. Tamlin Pavelsky
Fluvial geomorphology, sediment transport, boreal hydrology, delta progradation, and morphodynamic modeling
jmsdavis@email.unc.edu
Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Global Hydrology Lab

Damian Donoso-Tapia

Damian Donoso-Tapia

Advisor: Kennet E. Flores
Fluid-mediated processes in subduction zones through exhumed serpentinites and associated high-pressure rocks
damiandt@email.unc.edu
Mitchell Hall, Room 305
Google Scholar Profile

Marissa Dudek

Marissa Dudek

Advisor: Dr. Tamlin Pavelsky
Global Hydrology & Planetary Geology
mjdudek@email.unc.edu
Mitchell Hall, CB#3315

Colin Eimers

Colin Eimers

Advisor: Dr. Rachel Noble
Marine Science and Policy
ceimers@unc.edu
Institute of Marine Sciences Room 265
Noble Lab

Eve Eisemann

Eve Eisemann

Advisor: Dr. Antonio Rodriguez
 Coastal Geomorphology
eeisemann@unc.edu
UNC-IMS
Google Scholar Profile
@morphodyn
Rodriguez Lab

Ileana Fenwick

Ileana Fenwick

Advisor: Janet Nye
Community Ecology, Quantitative Fisheries Ecology
ileanaf@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-1252
Murray Hall, CB#3300
@_ileanaf
Nye Lab

Benton Franklin

Benton Franklin

Advisor: Dr. Laura Moore
Barrier Island Migration
wbenton@ad.unc.edu
Mitchell Hall 223
Coastal Environmental Change Lab

Aliyah Griffith

Aliyah Griffith

Advisor: Dr. Karl Castillo

Coral Reef Ecophysiology and Conservation


aliyahg@live.unc.edu
3105A Murray Hall, CB#3300
@cnidariannerd
Sofia Gurevich

Sofia Gurevich

Advisor: Dr. Laura Moore

gis@unc.edu
Mitchell Hall
Coastal Environmental Change Lab

Sean Hart

Advisor: Johanna Rosman

Hydrodynamic Modeling, Interactions of ocean currents and waves with complex reef topography


seanhart@unc.edu
Murray Hall, CB#3300
Will Hefner

Will Hefner


Topography in the Klamath Mountains and Coast Range of Northern California and Southern Oregon


whefner@unc.edu
Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Joshua Himmelstein

Joshua Himmelstein

Advisor: Antonio Rodriguez
Coastal Geomorphology
jhimmel@email.unc.edu
(919) 903-6320
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557
Personal Website
Google Scholar Profile
@joshimmel
Rodriguez Lab

Hunter Hughes

Hunter Hughes

Advisor: Dr. Donna Surge
Paleoclimatology
hphughes@email.unc.edu
Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
@HPHughesCraft
Paleoclimate Lab

Sarah Wells Hull

Sarah Wells Hull

Advisor: Kevin Stewart
Structural Geology and Metamorphic Petrology
sbrookw@live.unc.edu
Mitchell Hall 105A

Lina Koschik

Lina Koschik

Advisor: Xiaoming Liu
Geochemistry
ckoschik@ad.unc.edu
(919) 962-1250
Mitchell Hall 305
Linkedin
Liu Lab

Gibson Leavitt

Gibson Leavitt

Advisor: Alberto Scotti
Internal Waves; Computational Fluid Dynamics
gleavitt@unc.edu

Johnson (YuanYu) Lin

Johnson (YuanYu) Lin

Advisor: Adrian Marchetti

Phytoplankton physiology and marine microbiology


johnsony@live.unc.edu
3105C Murray Hall, CB#3300
Marchetti Lab
Alex Longo

Alex Longo

Advisor: Dr. Xiaoming Liu
Planetary Science
azlongo@live.unc.edu
Mitchell 210A
AmericaSpace
Liu Research Group

Alexis Lopez

Alexis Lopez

Advisor: Drew Coleman

arlopez1@email.unc.edu
Mitchell Hall CB#3304
Coleman Lab

Sofia Marino

Sofia Marino

Advisor: Eric Kirby
Structural Geology
smari115@ad.unc.edu
(919) 962-1252
Kirby Lab

Dylan Morrison

Dylan Morrison

Advisor: Dr. Drew Coleman
Geochronology
jacobmor@live.unc.edu
(828) 320-8713
Mitchell 319
Isotope Geochemistry Lab

Tyler O’keefe
Hunter Quintal

Hunter Quintal

Advisor: Dr. Antonia Sebastian
Hydrology, Flood Risk
hquintal@email.unc.edu
Mitchell Hall, CB#3315
Personal Website
Google Scholar Profile
@HunterQuintal
Watershed Hydrology & Flood Hazards

John Ratcliff

John Ratcliff

Advisor: Rick Luettich

Physical Oceanography / Storm Surge Modeling


jddratli@live.unc.edu
Luettich Lab
Mary Kate Elizabeth Rinderle

Mary Kate Elizabeth Rinderle

Advisor: Dr. Nathan Hall
Phytoplankton Ecology
rinderle@unc.edu
Murray 3105A
Paerl Lab

Muhammad Sadiq

Advisor: Eric Kirby

msadiq@ad.unc.edu

Yasamin Sharifi

Advisor: Antonio Rodriguez

Carbon sequestration in coastal ecosystems


ysharifi@unc.edu
Rodriguez Lab
Anna Strickland

Anna Strickland

Advisor: Dr. Kennet E Flores
Geochemistry and Petrochronology
strickah@ad.unc.edu
Mitchell Hall

Zack Taebel

Zack Taebel

Advisor: Alberto Scotti

Nonlinear Surface Waves


taebel@live.unc.edu
Scotti Lab
Jose Daniel Velez

Jose Daniel Velez

Advisor: Tamlin Pavelsky
Hydrology, remote sensing, fluvial hydraulics, river morphology, water quality
davelez@unc.edu
Mitchell Hall #214
Google Scholar Profile
@_josele__
Global Hydrology Lab
https://jdavecas.github.io/

Jianxing Wang

Jianxing Wang

Advisor: Johanna Rosman
Physical Oceanography
jianxing@email.unc.edu
Murray Hall, CB#3300
Rosman Lab

Ami Ward

Ami Ward

Advisor: Drew Coleman
Isotope geochemistry
ami1993@live.unc.edu
Coleman Lab

Liang (Acacia) Zhao

Advisor: Dr. Scott Gifford

Marine microbiology and carbon cycling


acacia@live.unc.edu
3105A Murray Hall, CB#3300
Gifford Lab