Graduate Students


Taylor Asher

Taylor Asher

Advisor: Rick Luettich
Luettich Lab
Hydrodynamics and statistical/physical flood hazards
tgasher@live.unc.edu
Malcolm Barnard

Malcolm Barnard

Advisor: Hans Paerl
Paerl Lab
CyanoHAB dynamics, aquatic geochemistry, and ecotoxicology
malcolm.barnard@unc.edu
Institute of Marine Sciences
Personal Website
Google Scholar Profile
@mabecologist
Lindsey Blankenship

Lindsey Blankenship

Advisor: Dr. Jonathan Lee
Lee Lab
Seismology, volcanology, and infrasound
lindsnb@email.unc.edu
Scott Booth

Scott Booth

Advisor: Dr. Brent McKee
McKee Lab

Coastal geochemistry and sediment transport


mscottb@ad.unc.edu
Murray/Venable Hall
Molly Bost

Molly Bost

Advisor: Antonio B. Rodriguez
Rodriguez Lab
Coastal Geology
mbost@ad.unc.edu
(IMS) Coker 262
Personal Website
Google Scholar Profile
@MollyBost
Garrett Braniecki

Garrett Braniecki

Advisor: Dr. Surge
Surge Lab

I am currently a Masters Degree seeking graduate student working with Dr. Surge in Paleoclimatology.  When I have free time I enjoy golfing, disc golfing, bowling, and camping.


braniegf@email.unc.edu
Department of Geological Sciences, 219
Sarah Brown

Sarah Brown

Advisor: Carol Arnosti

Primary affiliation:
UNC Environment, Ecology and Energy Program

sbrown21@live.unc.edu
(919) 966-9256
Yun Chang

Yun Chang

Advisor: Dr. Alberto Scotti

Theoretical and Computational Fluid Dynamics


yunchang@email.unc.edu
Murray/Venable Hall
Mingying Chuo

Mingying Chuo

Advisor: Nathan Hall
Paerl Lab
Marine Sciences
mchuo@unc.edu
Murray Hall 3105A
Mark Ciesielski

Mark Ciesielski

Advisor: Rachel Noble
Noble Lab

Marine Microbiology


mciesi3@unc.edu
@mark_ciesielski
Melanie Cohn

Melanie Cohn

Advisor: Scott Gifford
Gifford Lab
Marine Microbiology and Carbon Cycling
mcohn@live.unc.edu
Murray Hall 3105K
Personal Website
@ScithoughtsM
Caroline Cooper

Caroline Cooper

Advisor: Emily Eidam


ccooper272@gmail.com
Julianne Davis

Julianne Davis

Advisor: Dr. Tamlin Pavelsky
Global Hydrology Lab
Remote sensing to better understand the spatial and temporal variability in sediment transport through sub-Arctic rivers and deltas.
jmsdavis@email.unc.edu
Department of Geological Sciences, 208
Wayana Dolan

Wayana Dolan

Advisor: Dr. Tamlin Pavelsky
Global Hydrology Lab
Remote sensing, Arctic hydrology, Geoscience education
whyana@live.unc.edu
Mitchell Hall, 214
Marissa Dudek

Marissa Dudek

Advisor: Dr. Ryan Mills and Dr. Tamlin Pavelsky

Impact cratering and geologic processes of inner solar system terrestrial bodies.
mjdudek@email.unc.edu
Department of Geological Sciences, 208
Ana Dulskiy

Ana Dulskiy

Advisor: Karl Castillo
Castillo Lab
Primary affiliation:
UNC Environment, Ecology and Energy Program
Nutrient pollution on the microbial ecology of O. arbuscula.
adulskiy@unc.edu
(919) 962-1270
Eve Eisemann

Eve Eisemann

Advisor: Dr. Laura Moore
Coastal Environmental Change Lab
 Coastal Geomorphology
eeisemann@unc.edu
222 Mitchel Hall
Google Scholar Profile
@morphodyn
Ileana Fenwick

Ileana Fenwick

Advisor: Janet Nye
Nye Lab
Community Ecology, Quantitative Fisheries Ecology
ileanaf@email.unc.edu
919-962-1252
Murray/Venable Hall
@_ileanaf
Benton Franklin

Benton Franklin

Advisor: Dr. Laura Moore
Coastal Environmental Change Lab
Coastal Geomorphology
wbenton@ad.unc.edu
Mitchell Hall 222
Nick Funnell

Nick Funnell

Advisor: Joel Fodrie
Fodrie Lab
Primary affiliation:
UNC Environment, Ecology and Energy Program

Marine community ecology, restoration, and conservation; human-environment interactions; sustainable aquaculture


nfunnell@email.unc.edu
3117W Murray Hall
@nachofunnell
Daniel Goldman

Daniel Goldman

Advisor: Kennet Flores
Flores Lab
Petrology, Geochemistry
dgoldman@unc.edu
(919) 962-1250
Mitchell Hall 319
Linkedin
Aliyah Griffith

Aliyah Griffith

Advisor: Dr. Karl Castillo

Coral Reef Ecophysiology and Conservation


aliyahg@live.unc.edu
Murray Hall 3105A
Lauren Grimley

Lauren Grimley

Advisor: Dr. Antonia Sebastian
Hydrology and Flood Hazards Lab
Hydrology and flood hazards
lauren.grimley@unc.edu
Personal Website
Google Scholar Profile
@floodshappen
Jana Haddad

Jana Haddad

Advisor: Rick Luettich
Luettich Lab

Coastal processes, hydrodynamic modeling


jhaddad2@live.unc.edu
Personal Website
Google Scholar Profile
@JanaKHaddad
Lu Han

Lu Han

Advisor: Harvey Seim

Physical oceanography & meteorology and coastal water dynamics


luh@live.unc.edu
Venable Hall 3309
Will Hefner

Will Hefner



whefner@unc.edu
Mitchell 320
Joshua Himmelstein

Joshua Himmelstein

Advisor: Antonio Rodriguez
Rodriguez Lab
Coastal Geomorphology
jhimmel@email.unc.edu
+1 (919) 903-6320
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557
Personal Website
Google Scholar Profile
@joshimmel
Hunter Hughes

Hunter Hughes

Advisor: Dr. Donna Surge
Paleoclimate Lab
Paleoclimatology
hphughes@email.unc.edu
Department of Geological Sciences, 219
@HPHughesCraft
Zofia Knorek

Zofia Knorek

Advisor: Joel Fodrie
Fodrie Lab

Effect of invasive species and local pests on community dynamics and function


zofia@live.unc.edu
Personal Website
@zofiaknorek
Lina Koschik

Lina Koschik

Advisor: Xiaoming Liu
Liu Lab
Geochemistry
ckoschik@ad.unc.edu
+1 (919) 962-1250
Mitchell Hall 210A
Linkedin
Ted Langhorst

Ted Langhorst

Advisor: Tamlin Pavelsky
Global Hydrology Lab
Fluvial Geomorphology, Remote Sensing
tlang@live.unc.edu
Mitchell Hall 214
Personal Website
Google Scholar Profile
@TedLanghorst
Gibson Robert Scott Leavitt

Gibson Robert Scott Leavitt

Advisor: Alberto Scotti


gleavitt@unc.edu
Shuo Li

Shuo Li

Advisor: Wei Mei
Mei Lab

Hurricanes and Climate Change


shuo@live.unc.edu
Murray Hall 3202C
Johnson (YuanYu) Lin

Johnson (YuanYu) Lin

Advisor: Adrian Marchetti
Marchetti Lab

Phytoplankton physiology and marine microbiology


johnsony@live.unc.edu
Murray Hall 3105C
C. Chad Lloyd

C. Chad Lloyd

Advisor: Carol Arnosti

Chemical oceanography and the carbon cycle


cclloyd@live.unc.edu
Murray Hall 3117L
Alexis Longmire

Alexis Longmire

Advisor: Joel Fodrie
Fodrie Lab
Primary affiliation:
UNC Environment, Ecology and Energy Program

alongmire@unc.edu
Alexis Lopez

Alexis Lopez

Advisor: Drew Coleman

Economic Geology, Isotope Geochemistry, and Structural Geology
I am a Ph.D student working with Drew Coleman. I am interested in a number of areas of geology and have yet to choose my project!
In my free time, I enjoy reading, gaming, rollerblading, hiking with my cat (Momo), running, and traveling.

arlopez1@email.unc.edu
Ashley Lynn

Ashley Lynn

Advisor: Kevin G. Stewart
Stewart Lab

Structural Geology


aslynn@email.unc.edu
Mitchell Hall, Room 105A
Sydney Maguire

Sydney Maguire

Advisor: Erik Kirby

Tectonic Geomorphology
smaguire@unc.edu
(919) 962-1250
Mitchell Hall
Lance David Malcolm

Lance David Malcolm

Advisor: Scott Gifford


lmalcolm@unc.edu
Sofia Marino

Sofia Marino

Advisor: Eric Kirby
Kirby Lab
Structural Geology
smari115@ad.unc.edu
(919) 962-1252
Meredith Meyer

Meredith Meyer

Advisor: Dr. Adrian Marchetti
Marchetti Lab
Biological Oceanography
mgmeyer9@email.unc.edu
Murray Hall 3117K
Personal Website
@mgmeyer9
Allison Murrie

Allison Murrie

Advisor: Drew Coleman
Coleman Lab
Using Li isotopes to understand the evolution of pegmatitic systems.
amurrie@live.unc.edu
Mitchell 304
Lewis Naisbett-Jones

Lewis Naisbett-Jones

Advisor: Kenneth Lohmann & Joel Fodrie
Lohmann Lab
Primary affiliation:
UNC Biology
Marine Biology
lewisnj@live.unc.edu
919-260-9112
Coker Hall, Chapel Hill
Google Scholar Profile
@Lewis_N_Jones
Tyler O’keefe

Tyler O’keefe

Advisor: Joel Fodrie
Fodrie Lab
Ecology
okeefet@unc.edu
(919) 962-1250
Google Scholar Profile
@OKeefeTyler
Stephanie Peak

Stephanie Peak

Advisor: Christopher Willett and Karl Castillo
Castillo Lab
Primary affiliation:
UNC Biology
Coral Biology
speak@unc.edu
941-713-4967
3313 Venable Hall
Google Scholar Profile
@stephanie_peak
Haley Plaas

Haley Plaas

Advisor: Hans Paerl
Paerl Lab
Primary affiliation:
UNC Dept. of Environmental Sciences and Engineering

Harmful algae blooms


hplaas@live.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841
Personal Website
Google Scholar Profile
@HABhaley
Jeff Plumlee

Jeff Plumlee

Advisor: Joel Fodrie
Fodrie Lab

Marine fishes


jplumlee@live.unc.edu

Maya Powell

Advisor: Karl Castillo

Primary affiliation:
UNC Environment, Ecology and Energy Program
Coral reefs are under significant stress due to anthropogenic climate change, and there is poor understanding of their associated microbial communities. I am studying coral-associated microbiomes and their influence on coral stress resistance.
I will be sampling, sequencing, and conducting RTE’s in Belize and Curacao over the next few years to compare and contrast these ecosystems and the differences in microbial makeup between favorable and unfavorable conditions. I hope to uncover the mechanisms behind coral acclimation via their microbiome and possible future avenues for reef restoration.

mayapow@email.unc.edu
Google Scholar Profile