UNC Institute of Marine Sciences Graduate Students

UNC Institute of Marine Sciences Home Page


Taylor Asher

Taylor Asher


Advisor: Rick Luettich

Hydrodynamics and statistical/physical flood hazards

tgasher@live.unc.edu

Malcolm Barnard

Malcolm Barnard


Advisor: Hans Paerl

CyanoHAB dynamics, limnetic phycology, and ecotoxicology

malcolm.barnard@unc.edu
Institute of Marine Sciences
Personal Website
Google Scholar Profile
@mabecologist

Molly Bost

Molly Bost


Advisor: Antonio B. Rodriguez

Studying the processes (modern, historical, and ancient) that shape the coast.

mbost@ad.unc.edu
(IMS) Coker 262
Personal Website
Google Scholar Profile
@MollyBost

Mark Ciesielski

Mark Ciesielski


Advisor: Rachel Noble

Marine Microbiology

mciesi3@unc.edu
@mark_ciesielski

Ileana Fenwick

Ileana Fenwick


Advisor: Janet Nye

ileanaf@email.unc.edu
919-962-1252
Murray/Venable Hall
@illy_faye

Jana Haddad

Jana Haddad


Advisor: Rick Luettich

Coastal processes, hydrodynamic modeling

jhaddad2@live.unc.edu
Personal Website
@JanaKHaddad

Joshua Himmelstein


Advisor: Antonio Rodriguez

Landscape change in the Anthropocene Remote Sensing Scientific communication and education
jhimmel@email.unc.edu
+1 (919) 903-6320
3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557
Personal Website
Google Scholar Profile
@joshimmel

Zofia Knorek

Zofia Knorek


Advisor: Joel Fodrie

Effect of invasive species and local pests on community dynamics and function

zofia@live.unc.edu
Personal Website
@zofiaknorek

Alayna Mackiewicz

Alayna Mackiewicz

Sensory biology & animal navigation and migration

alaynam@live.unc.edu

Lewis Naisbett-Jones

Lewis Naisbett-Jones

Fish migration, behavior and sensory ecology

lewisnj@live.unc.edu
919-260-9112

Haley Plaas

Haley Plaas


Advisor: Hans Paerl

Harmful algae blooms

hplaas@live.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841
Google Scholar Profile
@HABhaley

Jeff Plumlee

Jeff Plumlee


Advisor: Joel Fodrie

Marine fishes

jplumlee@live.unc.edu

John Ratcliff

John Ratcliff


Advisor: Rick Luettich

Physical Oceanography / Storm Surge Modeling

jddratli@live.unc.edu

Anne Margaret Smiley

Anne Margaret Smiley


Advisor: Mike Piehler

Ecosystem functions within the built environment; Nutrient cycling; Coastal resilience

ahsmiley@ad.unc.edu
Murray Hall
@annesmileyy

Mark Stoops

Mark Stoops


Advisor: Rachel Noble

Environmental and Marine Microbiology

majastoo@email.unc.edu

Rebecca Van Hoeck

Rebecca Van Hoeck


Advisor: Joel Fodrie

Ecology and soundscapes of temperate hard bottom habitats

rebeccavh@unc.edu
@becca_vanhoeck

Emory Wellman

Emory Wellman


Advisor: Dr. Rachel K. Gittman

Ecosystem services provision by coastal habitats, restoration ecology, and coastal policy and management

emorywellman@gmail.com

Mollie Yacano

Mollie Yacano


Advisor: Mike Piehler

Coastal biogeochemistry

moyacano@live.unc.edu
@MollieYacano