Skip to main content

UNC Institute of Marine Sciences Graduate Students

UNC Institute of Marine Sciences Home Page


Camryn Blawas

Camryn Blawas

Primary affiliation:

UNC Environment, Ecology and Energy Program

Advisor: Dr. Janet Nye

cblawas@live.unc.edu

Google Scholar Profile

@camrynblawas

Nye Lab
Mingying Chuo

Mingying Chuo

Advisor: Nathan Hall
Marine Sciences

mchuo@unc.edu

3105A Murray Hall, CB#3300 Paerl Lab

Mark Ciesielski

Mark Ciesielski

Advisor: Rachel Noble

Marine Microbiology


mciesi3@unc.edu

@mark_ciesielski

Noble Lab
Sally Dowd

Sally Dowd

Primary affiliation:

UNC Environment, Ecology and Energy Program
Fisheries Ecology

sdowd@email.unc.edu

(252) 726-6841 ext 168

3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557

@sallycdowd

Nye Lab
Colin Eimers

Colin Eimers

Advisor: Dr. Rachel Noble

ceimers@ad.unc.edu

IMS 265 Noble Lab

Eve Eisemann

Eve Eisemann

Advisor: Dr. Antonio Rodriguez
 Coastal Geomorphology

eeisemann@unc.edu

UNC-IMS

Google Scholar Profile

@morphodyn

Rodriguez Lab
Ileana Fenwick

Ileana Fenwick

Advisor: Janet Nye
Community Ecology, Quantitative Fisheries Ecology

ileanaf@email.unc.edu

(919) 962-1252

Murray Hall, CB#3300

@_ileanaf

Nye Lab
Nick Funnell

Nick Funnell

Primary affiliation:

UNC Environment, Ecology and Energy Program

Advisor: Joel Fodrie

Marine community ecology, restoration, and conservation; human-environment interactions; sustainable aquaculture


nfunnell@email.unc.edu

3117W Murray Hall, CB#3300

@nachofunnell

Fodrie Lab
Jana Haddad

Jana Haddad

Advisor: Rick Luettich

Coastal processes, hydrodynamic modeling


jhaddad2@live.unc.edu

Personal Website

Google Scholar Profile

@JanaKHaddad

Luettich Lab
Joshua Himmelstein

Joshua Himmelstein

Advisor: Antonio Rodriguez
Coastal Geomorphology

jhimmel@email.unc.edu

(919) 903-6320

3431 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557

Personal Website

Google Scholar Profile

@joshimmel

Rodriguez Lab
Alexis Longmire

Alexis Longmire

Primary affiliation:

UNC Environment, Ecology and Energy Program

Advisor: Joel Fodrie

alongmire@unc.edu Fodrie Lab

Lewis Naisbett-Jones

Lewis Naisbett-Jones

Primary affiliation:

UNC Biology

Advisor: Kenneth Lohmann & Joel Fodrie
Marine Biology

lewisnj@live.unc.edu

919-260-9112

Coker Hall, Chapel Hill

Personal Website

Google Scholar Profile

@Lewis_N_Jones

Lohmann Lab
Tyler O’keefe

Madeleine Payne

Advisor: Joel Fodrie

IMS 159 Fodrie Lab

Haley Plaas

Haley Plaas

Primary affiliation:

UNC Dept. of Environmental Sciences and Engineering

Advisor: Hans Paerl

Harmful algae blooms


hplaas@live.unc.edu

(252) 726-6841

Personal Website

Google Scholar Profile

@HABhaley

Paerl Lab
John Ratcliff

John Ratcliff

Advisor: Rick Luettich

Physical Oceanography / Storm Surge Modeling


jddratli@live.unc.edu Luettich Lab

Yasamin Sharifi

Advisor: Antonio Rodriguez

Carbon sequestration in coastal ecosystems


ysharifi@unc.edu Rodriguez Lab

Anne Margaret Smiley

Anne Margaret Smiley

Advisor: Mike Piehler
Marine Sciences

ahsmiley@ad.unc.edu

Murray Hall, CB#3300

@annesmileyy

Piehler Lab
Rebecca Van Hoeck

Rebecca Van Hoeck

Primary affiliation:

UNC Biology

Advisor: Joel Fodrie

Ecology and soundscapes of temperate hard bottom habitats


rebeccavh@unc.edu

@becca_vanhoeck

Fodrie Lab
Jianxing Wang

Jianxing Wang

Advisor: Johanna Rosman
Physical Oceanography

jianxing@email.unc.edu

Murray Hall, CB#3300 Rosman Lab

Mollie Yacano

Mollie Yacano

Advisor: Mike Piehler

Coastal biogeochemistry


moyacano@live.unc.edu

@MollieYacano

Piehler Lab